Office of Victim Services and Justice Grants

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Mayor Bowser Announces $500,000 in Grants to Enhance Transportation Safety Initiative, Vision Zero

Thursday, June 21, 2018

(WASHINGTON, DC) – Mayor Bowser today announced the availability of $500,000 in Fiscal Year 2019 grants to further advance the goals of Vision Zero. With these grants, community partners and District agencies are challenged to create and ultimately implement unique solutions that combat obstacles to transportation safety across all eight wards.

“The District is fully committed to offering safe, accessible, and sustainable transportation opportunities to all our residents and visitors,” said Mayor Bowser. “By improving Vision Zero strategies that support cyclists, motorists, and pedestrians alike, we are creating a safer, stronger DC for all.”

Totaling $500,000, the new Vision Zero grants are generated from revenue created by automated traffic enforcement violations such as speeding and red light camera infractions. Since Fiscal Year 2017, Mayor Bowser has issued $2 million dollars in Vision Zero grants.

Vision Zero is Mayor Bowser’s initiative to improve all modes of transportation safety by showcasing effective local actions, empowering local leaders to take action, and promoting partnerships to advance safety. The District is using data, education, enforcement, engineering, and engagement to drive its Vision Zero Strategy.

“For the fourth consecutive year, the Vision Zero initiative will leverage the expertise of our community partners and other District agencies to test innovative ideas that create safe streets,” said Jeff Marootian, DDOT Director. “In years past, the grantees have come up with extremely creative, progressive ideas that we have actually implemented around the District to improve transportation safety.”

The official notice of funding availability is posted in the District of Columbia Register. Grant proposals are due on July 27, 2018 and the application is available at ddot.dc.gov.