Office of Victim Services and Justice Grants

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Juvenile Justice Advisory Group

The Juvenile Justice Advisory Group (JJAG) advises the state juvenile agency, provides active consultation to the government and private agencies, and ensures the provision of comprehensive delinquency prevention programs that meet the needs of youth through the collaboration of many local systems with which a youth may interface. Consistent with these provisions, the JJAG:

  • Spearheads the development of the District's three-year statewide plan.
  • Advises the Mayor and Legislature on compliance with core requirements of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (JJDP) Act.
  • Obtains input from youth currently under the jurisdiction of the juvenile justice system.
  • Reviews and comments on juvenile justice grant proposals.
  • Assists in monitoring all juvenile detention and correction facilities and community-based programs to ensure compliance with the JJDP Act.

As a required by Title II, Part B, Section 223(a)(3) of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) Act of 1974, each state, US Territory and the District of Columbia that receives federal formula grants is required to establish a statewide advisory group. This statewide advisory group advises the Mayor, and where appropriate, other stakeholders on matters relevant to juvenile justice and delinquency prevention. Each statewide advisory group is required to report annually on the accomplishments throughout the year. Annual reports published by the JJAG highlight activities and system improvements as they relate to core requirements of the JJDP Act.

Annual Reports

The following Annual Reports describe the Juvenile Justice Advisory Group’s activities during the specified fiscal year, documenting the accomplishments and progress in juvenile justice. These reports are submitted to the Mayor of the District of Columbia. 

3 Year Plans

The following 3 Year Plans is supported by funding from the US Department of Justice (DOJ), Office of Justice Programs (OJP), Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) which allows the District of Columbia to award organizations that will address juvenile delinquency and improve the juvenile justice system. 

JJAG Structure and Membership

The group consists of a minimum of 15 to 33 members that include the directors of juvenile justice agencies, prosecutors, public defenders, mental health professionals, community leaders, and most importantly, youth. Current members are listed below:

  • Carmen Daugherty, Chairperson, Campaign for Youth Justice
  • Bridgette Royster, Juvenille Justice Specialist, Office of Victim Services and Justice Grants 
  • Diamond Vann, DMC Coordinator, Criminal Justice Coordinating Council 
  • James Ballard III, Department of Behavioral Health
  • Hilary Cairns, Department of Human Services
  • Clinique Chapman, Public Defender Service
  • Shyra Gregory, District of Columbia Public Schools
  • Judge Hiram Puig-Lugo, DC Superior Court
  • Charisma Howell, Criminal Justice Coordinating Council 
  • Commander Jake Kishter, Metropolitan Police Department
  • Terri Odom, DC Superior Court/Court Social Services Division
  • Daniel Okonkwo, DC Lawyers for Youth
  • Jamie Rodriguez, Public Defender Service
  • Dave Rosenthal, Office of Attorney General
  • Penelope Spain, Open City Advocates
  • Bruce Wright, Department of Youth Rehabilitation Services
  • Youth Members

 Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act

As a required by Title II, Part B, Section 223(a)(3) of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (JJDP) Act of 1974, each state, US Territory and the District of Columbia that receives federal formula grants is required to establish a statewide advisory group. 


The Juvenile Justice Advisory Group (JJAG) adopted the By-laws in 2013. A copy of the By-laws can be found here

Disproportionate Minority Contact

The Criminal Justice Coordinating Council houses the Compliance Monitor and Disproportionate Minority Contact coordinator. The CJCC assists the District maintaining compliance with the four core requirements:

  • Deinstitutionalization of Status Offenders (DSO) -- the deinstitutionalization of status offenders and non-offenders requires that youth who are runaways, truants or curfew violators cannot be detained in juvenile detention facilities or adult jails;
  • "Sight and Sound" -- The "Sight and Sound" separation protection disallows contact between juvenile and adult offenders (i.e. if juveniles are put in an adult jail or lock up under the limited circumstances the law allows for, they must be separated from adult inmates);
  • "Jail Removal" -- The "Jail Removal" disallows the placement of youth in adult jails and lock ups except under very limited circumstances;
  • Disproportionate Minority Confinement (DMC) -- The DMC provision requires states to address the issue of over-representation of youth of color in the justice system.

The District has been in compliance since 2006.

DC Compliance Letter

Related links 

Contact TTY: